The long-unused medieval well was discovered during comprehensive renovation of Primatial Square in 1977. Interestingly, as with the well on Župné Square, it is not marked on the Neyder Plan of Pressburg, a document dating from 1820 that maps individual wells and other smaller objects in the city.
The original form of the wellhead is unknown, so the sculptors and architects Ladislav Snopek, Ladislav Šichman, and Ladislav Beisetzer placed a large ring of stone above the shaft. To secure the opening to the well, they positioned a modern grille cast from bronze on the upper plane of the ring. The grille is formed of loosely connected irregular concentric hoops, and is embellished at the centre by a circular relief of the city of Bratislava coat of arms.
On the upper outer surface of the stone ring, a relief inscription in capital letters conveys key information about the object:
"FOUND
°
RESTORED
1977"
With the passage of time, the creators' approach has proven appropriate in cases of destroyed or fragmentarily preserved historical objects whose original form remains unknown. The modern structure serves as a contemporary reminder of the object without the creation of pseudo-historical interpretations or kitsch imitations.
PB
Research status as of 05. 05. 2023.